Our Book 


I graduated with a Bachelor's degree (with Honors) in Electronics and Communications in 1981 from University of Madras, and a Masters degree in Computer Science in 1983 from Anna University. Both these universities are located in Madras, now called "Chennai", in the state of Tamilnadu in South India. I got another Masters degree in Computer Science in 1987, and a Ph.D. in Computer Science in  1991, both from  Concordia University, Montreal, Quebec, Canada. My doctoral thesis is on developing formal specifications for robotic applications.  I was a faculty member in the Department of Computer Science at the University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada from 1991 until 1999. I joined the Department of Computer Science at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse, La Crosse, Wisconsin in 1999 where I am currently a full Professor.

My research interests include formal methods, object-oriented analysis, design and programming, software reuse and re-engineering, and software architectures.


I was born in a small village in India. This village is located near Madurai, one of the most famous and ancient cities in Tamilnadu in South India. My mother tongue is Tamil. Quite often, I recollect the memorable days that I spent in the small village where I was born and brought up.

Hobbies and Interests:

  • Watching Tamil movies, particularly the old ones.
  • Listening to and writing Tamil songs.
  • Visiting Hindu temples.
  • Playing with kids.
  • Helping elderly people.

My son's speech

  Here is a short presentation by my son Sarvesh Periyasamy about volunteer work (April 19, 2010).