Software Design I, Fall ’17

CS 120.3 Fall ’17, Mo.-Tu.-We.-Fr. 11:00am, Centennial 3213

Recent CS120 posts

Upcoming classes and assignments

Except where explicitly specified, all assignments and projects are due by 8:30am on the due date. Past classes are listed at the bottom of this page.

  1. Monday, November 20
    • Supplementary exercises (set 28): Challenge activities in Sections 7.18, 9.15
    • Preparatory exercises (set 27): Participation activities in Sections 9.13-9.17, 10.1-10.3
  2. Wednesday, November 24
    • Supplementary exercises (set 29): Challenge activities in Section 10.1
    • Preparatory exercises (set 28): Participation activities in Sections 10.4-10.8
  3. Monday, November 27
    • Supplementary exercises (set 30): Challenge activities in Section 10.3
    • Preparatory exercises (set 29): Participation activities in Sections 11.1-11.5
  4. Tuesday, November 28
    • Supplementary exercises (set 31): Challenge activities in Sections 10.5
    • Preparatory exercises (set 30): Participation activities in Sections 12.1-12.2
  5. Wednesday, November 29
    • Preparatory exercises (set 31): Participation activities in Sections 12.3-12.5
  6. Friday, December 1
    • Project 4 due
    • Preparatory exercises (set 32): Participation activities in Sections 12.6-12.10
    • Book exercises completed
  7. Monday, December 4
  8. Tuesday, December 5
  9. Wednesday, December 6
  10. Friday, December 8
  11. Monday, December 11
  12. Tuesday, December 12
  13. Wednesday, December 13 – Last day of class
  14. Monday, December 18, 10am-noon – Final examination – Centennial 3204

Resources

All CS120 news

Past classes

  1. Tuesday, September 5 – first class meeting
  2. Wednesday, September 6
    • Preparatory exercises (set 1): Participation activities in Chapter 1, Sections 2.1-2.6
  3. Friday, September 8
    • Supplementary exercises (set 1): Challenge activities in Sec. 2.2-2.4.
    • Preparatory exercises (set 2):
      • Participation activities in Sections 2.7-2.12
      • Complete the Syllabus Quiz on D2L
  4. Monday, September 11
    • Supplementary exercises (set 2): Challenge activities in Sec. 2.7, 2.9, 2.10.
    • Preparatory exercises (set 3):
      • Participation activities in Sections 2.13-2.16
      • Fill in the blanks and complete the rest of the following paragraph, and submit it as a single plain-text file YOURLASTNAME.txt (replacing YOURLASTNAME with your actual surname) to the “Course goals” dropbox on D2L:
        In this class I hope to earn a final grade
        of ___ because ______.  This goal is
        reasonable because ...
        

        Your paragraph should be 100 words or less.

  5. Tuesday, September 12
    • It’s Lab Day! Meet in Wing Tech. Center Room 16 (which is in the basement) instead of in our normal room.
    • Supplementary exercises (set 3): Challenge activities in Sec. 2.11, 2.13.
    • Preparatory exercises: Read Dr. Hursey’s Eclipse Basics Tutorial (especially Sections 1 and 2).
  6. Wednesday, September 13
    • Supplementary exercises (set 4): Challenge activities in Sec. 2.14.
    • Preparatory exercises (set 4): Participation activities in Sections 2.17-2.19
  7. Friday, September 15
    • Supplementary exercises (set 5): Challenge activities in Sec. 2.15.
    • Preparatory exercises (set 5): Participation activities in Sections 3.1-3.5
  8. Monday, September 18 — nothing due
  9. Tuesday, September 19Lab Day
    • Supplementary exercises (set 6): Challenge activities in Sec. 2.18.
  10. Wednesday, September 20
    • Preparatory exercises (set 6): Participation activities in Sections 3.6-3.12
  11. Friday, September 22
    • Supplementary exercises (set 7): Challenge activities in Sections 3.1-2
  12. Monday, September 25
    • Supplementary exercises (set 8): Challenge activities in Sections 3.3
    • Preparatory exercises (set 7): Participation activities in Sections 4.1-4.5
  13. Tuesday, September 26
    • Supplementary exercises (set 9): Challenge activities in Sections 3.7, 4.1
    • Preparatory exercises (set 8): Participation activities in Sections 5.1-5.7
  14. Wednesday, September 27
    • Supplementary exercises (set 10): Challenge activities in Sections 5.1-3
    • Preparatory exercises (set 9): Participation activities in Sections 5.8-5.12
  15. Friday, September 29
    • Project 1 due
    • Preparatory exercises (set 10): Participation activities in Sections 6.1-6.9
  16. Monday, October 2Midterm exam 1
  17. Tuesday, October 3Lab day
    • Supplementary exercises (set 11): Challenge activities in Section 5.4
  18. Wednesday, October 4
    • Supplementary exercises (set 12): Challenge activities in Section 4.2
    • Preparatory exercises (set 11): Participation activities in Sections 7.1-7.4
  19. Friday, October 6
    • Supplementary exercises (set 13): Challenge activities in Sections 3.8, 5.5
    • Preparatory exercises (set 12): Participation activities in Sections 7.5-7.6
  20. Monday, October 9
    • Supplementary exercises (set 14): Challenge activities in Sections 5.6, 6.1, 6.6, 7.1, 7.2, 7.3
    • Preparatory exercises (set 13): Participation activities in Sections 7.7-7.14
  21. Tuesday, October 10 (not a lab day)
    • Preparatory exercises (set 14): Participation activities in Sections 7.15-7.20, 8.1, 8.2
  22. Wednesday, October 11
    • Supplementary exercises (set 15): Challenge activities in Sections 6.2, 6.3, 7.4, 8.2
    • Preparatory exercises (set 15): Participation activities in Sections 8.3-8.5
  23. Friday, October 13
    • Supplementary exercises (set 16): Challenge activities in Section 5.7, 6.4, 7.5, 8.4
    • Preparatory exercises (set 16): Participation activities in Sections 8.6-8.9
  24. Monday, October 16
    • Project 2 due
    • Preparatory exercises (set 17): Participation activities in Sections 8.10
  25. Tuesday, October 17Lab day! — meet in 16 Wing
    • Supplementary exercises #17 to be a lab exercise — to be posted
  26. Wednesday, October 18
    • Supplementary exercises (set 18): Yesterday’s lab exercise
    • Preparatory exercises (set 18): Participation activities in Sections 8.11
  27. Friday, October 20
    • Code from class: RandomDistribs.java
    • Supplementary exercises (set 19): Challenge activities in Sections 5.8, 6.7, 7.7
    • Preparatory exercises (set 19): Participation activities in Sections 8.12-13
  28. Monday, October 23
    • No book exercises due today
  29. Tuesday, October 24 — Lab day!
    • Supplementary exercises (set 20): Challenge activities in Sections 5.9, 7.8
    • Lab exercise to be completed in class, submitted to D2L by Wed. morning for credit as Supplementary exercise 21.
  30. Wednesday, October 25
    • Supplementary exercises (set 22): Challenge activities in Sections 6.8, 8.5
  31. Friday, October 27
    • Supplementary exercises (set 23): Challenge activities in Sections 7.10, 8.6
    • Preparatory exercises (set 20): Participation activities in Sections 9.1-9.4
  32. Monday, October 30 – Project 3 due
    • Preparatory exercises (set 21): Participation activities in Section 9.5
  33. Tuesday, October 31 (not a lab day)
    • Supplementary exercises (set 24): Challenge activities in Sections 7.14, 9.2
    • Preparatory exercises (set 22): Participation activities in Section 9.6
  34. Wednesday, November 1
    • Supplementary exercises (set 25): Challenge activities in Sections 7.16, 8.8
    • Preparatory exercises (set 23): Participation activities in Section 9.7
  35. Friday, November 3 — Exam review
    • Supplementary exercises (set 26): Challenge activities in Sections 8.11, 9.3
  36. Monday, November 6 – Midterm 2
    • Covers Chapters 3-6, Sections 7.1-7.14, and Chapter 8
  37. Tuesday, November 7
    • Preparatory exercises (set 24): Participation activities in Sections 9.8-9.9
  38. Wednesday, November 8
    • Preparatory exercises (set 25): Participation activities in Sections 9.10-9.11
  39. Friday, November 10
    • Supplementary exercises (set 27): Challenge activities in Sections 7.17, 9.4
    • Preparatory exercises (set 26): Participation activities in Sections 9.12
  40. Monday, November 13
  41. Tuesday, November 14
  42. Wednesday, November 15
  43. Friday, November 17 – no exercises due