Upcoming Events

CODERS Meeting
Thursdays | 4-5 pm | Wing 231CODERS is a group of students and faculty interested in outreach, diversity, engagement and retention.

Cookies w/CODERS
Mondays | 4-5 pm |Wing 16A weekly study time to meet other CS students, ask questions, work on projects, and of course...eat cookies! Put on by CODERS.

Meet & Pizza w/Fastenal
Wednesday, March 22, 5pm, 1142 Centennial Come have pizza and hear about recruiting info from Fastenal.

CS Distinguished Lecturer
Shafi Goldwasser
Mon April 3, Lectures 11 & 5pm2017 Distinguished Lecturer in Computer Science

MICS Conference
Fri-Sat April 7-8UWL CS Dept is hosting the Midwest Instruction and Computing Symposium.

Final Exams
May 8-12Make sure you know when your finals are for each class.



Computer Science Dept
221 Wing Technology Ctr.
1725 State St.
La Crosse, WI 54601
Voice: (608) 785-6805
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Google Maps

Distinguished Lecture Series in Computer Science

The UW-L Distinguished Lecture Series in Computer Science attracts internationally-recognized leaders in computer science for lectures, technical symposia, and workshops. The series was started in 1990 and is supported through the UW-La Crosse Foundation and the College of Science and Health.


2016 Shafi Goldwasser, RSA Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at MIT and professor of computer science and applied mathematics at the Weizmann Institute of Science in Israel.  Member of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering. (Poster/Brochure).
2014 Vijay Kumar, UPS Foundation Professor, School of Engineering and Applied Science at the University of Pennsylvania. Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. Fellow of the Institution of Electrical and Electronic Engineers. Member of the National Academy of Engineering. (Poster/Brochure).
2013 Katherine Yelick, Associate Laboratory Director for Computing Sciences at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences at the University of California at Berkeley. Recipient of the ACM Athena Award. (Poster/Brochure).
2011 Leslie G. Valiant, T. Jefferson Coolidge Professor of Computer Science and Applied Mathematics in the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences at Harvard University. Recipient of the ACM's 2010 Turing Award, the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science 2008 EATCS award, and the 1997 Knuth Award. (Poster/Brochure)
2010 Charles Thacker, leader of the Computer Architecture group at Microsoft Research. Recipient of the ACM's 2009 Turing Award, the IEEE 2007 Von Neumann Medal and National Academy of Engineering Charles Stark Draper prize. (Poster / Brochure)
2009 Barbara Liskov, Institute Professor at MIT and Associate Provost for Faculty Equity. Recipient of the ACM's 2008  Turing Award, IEEE 2004 Von Neumann Medal and the ACM SIGPLAN 2008 Programming Language Achievement Award. (PosterBrochure)
2008 Frances Allen, IBM Fellow Emerita at the T. J. Watson Research Laboratory. Recipient of the ACM's 2006 Turing Award for pioneering contributions to the theory and practice of optimizing compiler techniques that laid the foundation for modern optimizing compilers and automatic parallel execution.. (PosterBrochure)
2007 Jeannette M. Wing, President's Professor of Computer Science and the head of the Computer Science Department at Carnegie Mellon University. (PosterBrochure)
2006 Victor R. Basili, Professor of Computer Science at the University ofMaryland.He was Executive Director of the FraunhoferCenter –Maryland and founder and principal of the Software Engineering Laboratory (SEL) at NASA/GSFC.(PosterBrochure)
2005 Tom DeFanti, Director of the Electronic Visualization Laboratory (EVL), director of the Software Technologies Research Center and Professor of Computer Science at the University of Illinois at Chicago. (PosterBrochure)
2004 Suzanne Weghorst, research scientist and research director at theUniversity of Washington's Human Interface Technology Laboratory (HIT Lab). (Poster)
2003 Henry Fuchs, Fedrico Gil Professor in the Computer ScienceDepartment, as well as an adjunct professor of Biomedical Engineering and adjunct professor of Radiation Oncology of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Research includes virtual reality as it relates to medicine through three-dimensional biomedical imaging, as well as head-mounted displays. (Poster)
2002 Yale Patt, Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering and the Ernest Cockrell, Jr., Centennial Chair in Engineering, TheUniversity of Texas at Austin. Researcher in high performance computer implementation generally five to 10 years beyond what industry provides at that point in time. (Poster)
2000 Ken Kennedy, Ann & John Doerr Professor of Computational Engineering and Director of the Center for High Performance Software Research at Rice University in Houston, Texas.
1999 David Harel, William Sussman Professor of Mathematics at theWeizmann Institute of Science in Israel. He is the inventor of the language of statecharts (1983), and was part of the team that designed Statemate (1984-1987) and Rhapsody (1997).
1998 Anita K. Jones, Professor of Computer Science in the School ofEngineering and Applied Science at the University of Virginia. Department of Defense, Director of Defense Research and Engineering from 1992 to 1996.
1997 David Lorge Parnas, Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and NSERC/Bell Industrial Research Chair in Software Engineering, McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada.
1996 Raj Reddy, Dean of the School of Computer Science at CarnegieMellon University and the Herbert A. Simon Professor of Computer Science and Robotics. Co-recipient of the ACM's 1994 Turing Award.
1995 Andries van Dam, Professor, founder and first Chair of Computer Science Department at Brown University and author of five books on computer graphics.
1993 David Patterson, Professor at the University of California atBerkeley, co-author of two books. Led the design of RISC 1 (Reduced Instruction Set Computer) Architecture and RAID Systems.
1992 David Gries, Professor at Cornell University, author of five books on computing, and recipient of Computing Research Assoc. Service Award - 1991.
1991 Richard Stallman, founder of the League for Programming Freedom, President of the Free Software Foundation, and MacArthur Foundation Fellow.
1990 Bertrand Meyer, leading researcher in object-oriented software development, author, creator of the Eiffel programming language, President of Interactive Software Engineering Inc.